Connect with us

Photo Credit: WWE


WWE News

A match on WWE Raw ended early because Vince McMahon’s secret rule was broken

If you were wondering what was up with the weird finish during the Rey Mysterio/Aleister Black vs. Seth Rollins/Murphy match on WWE Monday Night Raw, it turns out that Rollins broke one of Vince McMahon’s “secret rules.”

As some of you may know, the referees are told to call matches like it’s a shoot. Basically, if a wrestler forgets to get their shoulder up or if they don’t get in the ring before a 10-count then the referee is instructed to count them out even if that is not the planned finish.

On Wrestling Observer Live, Bryan Alvarez said that another McMahon rule was broken when Mysterio was attacked by Rollins, who was not the legal man in the match.

Alvarez said, “There is in fact a secret rule, it’s a Vince McMahon rule.”

He continued, “In a tag team match…you know how you tag and there’s 5 seconds when you can both be in the ring at the same time, right? If I tag you, for 5 seconds we can both be in the ring as the referee counts to 5.”

“However, outside of that 5 seconds if you are not the legal man, you cannot touch the other team’s legal man. Vince is adamant that this be enforced. If you are legal, you are allowed to hit the other team’s illegal man but the illegal man cannot touch the legal man. So Rey, because he’s legal, is allowed to hit Seth on the apron but Seth on the apron is not allowed to hit Rey. Seth can hit Aleister because they are both illegal. Legal can hit illegal but illegal cannot hit legal but illegal can hit illegal.”

Vince is apparently very adamant about the referees enforcing this rule so that is why the match ended awkwardly before they went to scheduled post-match attack on Mysterio.

Alvarez continued, “Vince is so adamant about this rule that when the wrestlers put together matches, there are spots that they want to do but the can’t because they will violate this rule. Even though I said all of that, you are still allowed to break up a pin. So illegal, as noted, can hit legal to break up the pin. If the illegal man tries to make a pin and the ref isn’t paying attention and the illegal man hits the illegal man, I think that’s a disqualification. If you are on the apron and you step inside and you punch the legal man, even though it has no bearing on the match, that’s a disqualification. But if someone is pinning your partner and you step in and break it up, which is a save, that is legal…That’s why last night Rey went for the 619 and Seth grabbed him and threw him on the floor and that was a disqualification. Because of this crazy rule.”

If you use any portion of the quotes from this article please credit Wrestling Observer Live with a h/t to WrestlingNews.co for the transcription






Comments
To Top