Skip to main content

Fans were confused after a tag team match between AJ Styles & Ezekiel and The Miz & Ciampa ended in a DQ on Monday’s episode of WWE Raw.

Originally, Styles was set to take on The Miz and Ciampa in a handicap match before Elias’ brother decided to join in.

The finish saw Styles having Miz in the calf crusher, but Ciampa came in and made the save. The referee called for a disqualification. The announcers then wondered why it was a DQ, with Corey Graves questioning why the referee called for the bell.

On today’s Wrestling Observer Radio, Dave Meltzer explained that WWE has a secret rule for tag team matches as you only get one save and if there is a second save then it's a DQ. This type of save situation happens a lot in tag team matches, and rarely does the referee disqualify someone for it, but in this case, it happened.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

“Well, you know why. There’s a secret rule in WWE that in a tag match, you only get one save, and this was the second save. So, therefore, it’s a DQ. The other thing is, there are guys from outside the ring, illegal guys, that do two-on-ones constantly. It’s like that idea that the illegal man can’t do anything physical to the legal man, or it’s a DQ. That’s ridiculous.”

If you use any portion of the quotes from this article please credit F4WOnline.com with a h/t to WrestlingNews.co for the transcription. A F4WOnline.com subscription includes the Wrestling Observer Newsletter and daily audio shows in addition to thousands of hours of archived audio shows.