Connect with us

Photo Credit: WWE

WWE News

Eight WWE Superstars released

WWE announced on Friday that they have released Damien Sandow, Santino Marella, Cameron, Zeb Colter, El Torito, Alex Riley and Hornswoggle. WWE issued the following:

WWE has come to terms on the release of WWE Superstars Damien Sandow, King Barrett, Santino Marella, Cameron, Hornswoggle, Alex Riley, El Torito and Zeb Colter as of today, Friday, May 6, 2016. WWE wishes them the best in all of their future endeavors.

Riley signed with WWE in 2007 and was called up to the main roster in late 2010 and was paired with The Miz. Later in his WWE career, he was working as an announcer and a wrestler in NXT.

Hornswoggle signed with WWE in 2006. He won the Cruiserweight Title during his stint with the company.

Colter returned to WWE in 2013 to be the manager of Jack Swagger and Cesaro. He later managed Alberto Del Rio.

Cameron’s release is not surprising since she hasn’t been featured in storylines in a long time.

Sandow’s release is disappointing. He had a lot more to offer and he was more over with the fans, despite the way he was used on TV.

UPDATE: Wade Barrett noted on Twitter that he is officially done with WWE. His contract was set to expire in few weeks, and WWE let him out of his contract early. He posted this on Twitter:

Barrett signed with WWE in 2006, and he made his main roster debut in June of 2010 as the leader of the Nexus. He held the Intercontinental Title five-times during his career and won the King of the Ring in 2015.


More in WWE News

Follow WrestlingNewsCo

Follow on Facebook

Follow on Instagram

Follow on Twitter

Subscribe to on YouTube


To Top