Skip to main content

Plans for a title change before WWE Survivor Series have been scrapped

WWE Survivor Series

As noted earlier, the plan for the WWE Universal Championship match at Survivor Series is for Bray Wyatt to defend against Daniel Bryan. They kicked off their feud last Friday night on SmackDown in Manchester.

Dave Meltzer noted on Wrestling Observer Radio that he is under the impression that the original plan was for Bray Wyatt to face The Miz. He was not able to confirm that 100 percent but it's worth noting that there was a Miz TV segment scheduled a couple of weeks ago and it was scrapped because most of the roster was stuck in Saudi Arabia. WWE never followed up with plans for the Miz TV segment with Wyatt as the special guest.

Meltzer added, "Daniel Bryan, I believe was going to be in the match with Roderick Strong and AJ [Styles], which would have been an absolutely incredible three-way."

He continued, "I just know that Nakamura was losing the title to someone. He was being programmed with Bryan. It could have been Ali [that he would have lost the title to]. When Bryan got moved into the Wyatt match, Nakamura is now not losing so that has changed. So they changed that booking. The rest of the card is largely announced."

Bryan vs. Wyatt has not been announced yet but I would guess that they will announce it this Friday night on SmackDown. For what it's worth, Bryan is advertised for a Miz TV segment this week so that could lead to Wyatt getting involved in the segment.

Meanwhile, at upcoming live events, WWE is advertising Wyatt vs. Miz so there's still a good chance that they will transition into that feud at some point.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Here are the matches that have been announced so far for Survivor Series

WWE Championship
Brock Lesnar (Champion) vs. Rey Mysterio

Champion vs. Champion vs. Champion
Becky Lynch (Raw Women's) vs. Bayley (SmackDown Women's) vs. Shayna Baszler (NXT Women's)

Champions vs. Champions vs. Champions
The Viking Raiders (Raw Tag Team) vs. The New Day (SmackDown Tag Team) vs. The Undisputed Era (NXT Tag Team)

Champion vs. Champion vs. Champion
AJ Styles (U.S. Champion) vs. Shinsuke Nakamura (IC Champion) vs. Roderick Strong (NXT North American Champion)

5-on-5-on-5 Survivor Series elimination match
Team Raw (Seth Rollins, Drew McIntyre, Kevin Owens, Randy Orton, and Ricochet) vs. Team SmackDown (Roman Reigns, Mustafa Ali, Braun Strowman, King Corbin, and Shorty G) vs. Team NXT (TBA, TBA, TBA, TBA, and TBA)

5-on-5-on-5 Survivor Series elimination match
Team Raw (TBA, TBA, TBA, TBA, and TBA) vs. Team SmackDown (Sasha Banks, Carmella, Dana Brooke, Lacey Evans and TBA) vs. Team NXT (TBA, TBA, TBA, TBA, and TBA)

WWE Survivor Series will happen on Sunday, November 24 from the Allstate Arena in Rosemont, IL.