The Miz and Dolph Ziggler squared off in the World Cup final at Crown Jewel on Friday. The match was slotted in the semi-main event spot. The tournament, according to WWE, would determine who is the “best in the world.” The referee told Drew McIntyre that he would need to leave the ringside area so Ziggler would have to win this match without help.
Before the match got started, Miz apparently landed wrong at ringside and injured his right leg. Miz refused help and yelled at the referees about never being injured. The ring announcer was about to announce that Miz was forfeiting but Shane McMahon cut him off and refused to accept the forfeit. McMahon took Miz’ spot in the match. Even Michael Cole asked how this was right.
McMahon got in most of his trademark offense including the coast-to-coast dropkick. McMahon got the pin and he is the World Cup winner.