Skip to main content

WWE announces first-ever "World Collide" tournament set for Royal Rumble weekend



As noted yesterday, WWE recently filed for the "World Collide" trademark and now we know why.

The company announced today that there will be a tournament held at Royal Rumble AXXESS in Phoneix, Arizona and the names featured will come from NXT, NXT UK and 205 Live. WWE is touting this as "one of the most unique tournaments in sports-entertainment history" that will feature brand vs. brand dream matches.

There will be 15 Superstars involved with five coming from each of the brands listed above and the tournament will take place over the course of two days. The winner will receive a future NXT, NXT UK or 205 Live Championship match of their choosing, which means anyone can become champion on any brand.

The tournament will be taped for a WWE Network special but there is no word on when these matches will air. Things will kick off with a battle royal on Saturday, January 26 at the 8 am Axxess session. The order of elimination will determine the first round matches that will take place later in that session. They also announced that the winner of the battle royal would receive a first-round bye.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

The tournament will continue into the second Axxess session that takes place between 1 and 5 pm and it will conclude on Sunday, January 27 during the 8 am-12 pm session.

Names announced for the tournament:

From NXT
Adam Cole
Velveteen Dream
Dominik Dijakovic
Keith Lee
Otis Dozovic

Mark Andrews
Tyler Bate
Travis Banks
Jordan Devlin
Zack Gibson

From 205 Live
Cedric Alexander
Humberto Carrillo
Tony Nese
Drew Gulak

Click here for ticket information.